Anna Porzelt and Nejc Zupan 

Anna’s life as a dancer began in her teens with competitions in Ballroom and latin-american dances. Even if that they are not quite “swing”, thanks to this experience, she was able to waltz and foxtrot before she discovered Paris’ swing scene in 2008. And all this enriches her repertoire today. Anna is most happy when she is able to mix all the dances: Lindy, Balboa, 20s Charleston, Collegiate Shag, One Step, Peabody – or whatever the music inspires her to do.

Anna’s principal goal in her classes is to empower followers to fully participate in the dance, and not just be content with following.

As DJ ‘Professor Shorthair’ Anna loves to see people swing out to her favorite 60s records and she also plays washboard with her band ‘The Wrecking Balls’. She puts on the wildest parties in Berlin and two crazy weeklong dance events: Swing and Balboa Castle Camp.

Anna likes to lead as much as she likes to follow, because she has a mind of her own, which is evident when you watch her feet.

Nejc started dancing swing back in 2003 as a result of his contemporary dance experience and a strong love for jazz music. It is also because of this that he became the main culprit for the popularization of Lindy Hop and Balboa in Slovenia in the early 2000s. His swing dance repertoire is a result of endless research into different dance forms, many international workshops and his humble willingness to keep learning from anyone willing to teach him. He pays special attention to jazz movement and musicality, both quintessential to any form of swing dancing.

[video1]

It is a pleasure to welcome these 2 talented internationally-recognized teachers together to Grenoble, for the first time!

 Annabel Quisao and Bobby White

After only two years of competing together, Annabel and Bobby hold almost every major title in the Balboa world, including two back-to-back All Balboa Weekend ACBC Championship titles (2015 & 2016), the California Balboa Classic (2016 & 2017), the Rendezvous Cup (2017), and the National Jitterbug Championships Balboa division (2016). Together they can boast almost three decades of teaching experience. Annabel is a social dance addict whose laugh can be heard across dance floors and whose enthusiasm is contagious. Bobby is the author of the popular swing dance blog Swungover, the book “Practice Swing,” and often teaches complicated concepts through funny noises

We are very excited to welcome this couple of playful professors in Grenoble!

Olga Marina and Andreas Olsson 

16797713_1288356694557886_6695515774982800991_oOlga Marina is from Moscow and was born into a family of teachers (language and music) and has been an energetic live wire since early years – studying music, doing athletics, martial arts and gymnastics. Olga has been teaching and competing all over Europe and is regarded as one of the best Balboa followers in Europe.

Andreas lives in Stockholm. He has been teaching, competing and performing Balboa, Lindy Hop, Charleston, Collegiate and St. Louis Shag internationally for more than a decade. Andreas is regarded as one of the top Balboa teachers and dancers in the world.

[video1video2]

As instructors, Andreas and Olga emphasise partnership, musicality and follow-leading abilities. They have an easy-going, relaxed way of teaching. They are known for giving well-structured classes and they always try to give their students lots of individual feedback. Their ambition is to create playful classes filled with interesting footwork, figures, fun tasks and laughter. 

Andreas is well-accustomed to Grenoble dancefloors, and it is great to have him back. We are terribly excited to welcome Olga with Andreas for this 2018 edition!

Audrey and Jean Buisson

buissonThe beginner’s level “Muggles” will be taught by teachers from the local area, Audrey and Jean Buisson. They have been passionate about Swing dance for over 10 years. Their first steps in this dance form were in Paris in 2006, and they were also part of the Flying Cool Cats troupe for 7 years as a demonstrator (Lindy Hop, Balboa, Shag, Jazz Roots, Charleston 1920 and 1930, etc.). For the past 4 years, Audrey and Jean have been specializing in Balboa, and now teach at the dance school The Academy in Aix Les Bains. They are equally passionate about teaching and dancing. All of this in a friendly and joyous atmosphere, that is also part of this Swing community.

Anna Porzelt et Nejc Zupan 

La vie de danseuse d’Anna débute à l’adolescence par des compétitions de danses de salon et des danses latino-américaines. Même si ça ne swinguait pas encore, elle savait, grâce à cette expérience, danser valse et foxtrot avant de découvrir le swing de la scène parisienne en 2008. Et cela se ressent encore aujourd’hui dans son répertoire; Anna n’est jamais aussi heureuse que lorsqu’elle peut mixer toutes les danses: Lindy, Balboa, 20s Charleston, Collegiate Shag, One Step, Peabody – ou quelque danse que ce soit que la musique lui inspire.

L’objectif principal d’Anna dans ses cours est d’inciter les danseuses à participer pleinement à la danse,  plutôt que de se contenter de suivre.

En tant que DJ ‘Professor Shorthair’ Anna adore voir les danseurs swinguer sur ses musiques préférées des années 60. Elle joue également de la washboard dans son groupe ‘The Wrecking Balls’. Elle a passé ses soirées les plus endiablées à Berlin et lors de 2 semaines de danse de folie au Swing and Balboa Castle Camp.

Anna aime autant guider que suivre, elle le porte en elle et cela saute aux yeux quand on observe ses pieds …

Nejc a commencé à danser le swing en 2003, passion née de son expérience en danse contemporaine associée à son grand amour pour le jazz. C’est ainsi qu’il est devenu l’un des principaux instigateurs de la popularisation du Lindy Hop et du Balboa en Slovénie au début des années 2000. Son répertoire de danse swing nait d’une recherche permanente dans toutes les formes de danses, de sa participation à de nombreux workshops internationaux et de sa volonté de continuer à apprendre, en toute humilité, de quiconque qui lui propose ses enseignements. Il porte une attention particulière à la gestuelle et à la musicalité jazzy, quintessence de toute danse swing.

[video1]

Ces 2 talentueux danseurs et professeurs internationaux, nous font le plaisir de venir enseigner pour la première fois ensemble à Grenoble!

Annabel Quisao et Bobby White

Après 2 ans seulement de compétition ensemble, Annabel et Bobby ont gagné quasiment tous les prix que compte le monde du Balboa, en particulier deux prix (2015 & 2016) au Back-to-back All Balboa Weekend ACBC Championship, le California Balboa Classic (2016 & 2017), la Rendezvous Cup (2017) et les National Jitterbug Championships Balboa division (2016). A eux deux, ils peuvent se targuer de 3 décennies d’expérience dans l’enseignement.

Annabel est une accro des danses sociales, sont rire peut s’entendre à travers les dancefloors et sont enthousiasme est contagieux.

Bobby est l’auteur de “Practice swing”, livre célèbre dans le monde du swing, et s’amuse souvent à enseigner des concepts de danse complexes à l’aide de drôles de petits bruits.

Nous sommes très heureux d’accueillir ce couple de joyeux professeurs!

Olga Marina et Andreas Olsson

16797713_1288356694557886_6695515774982800991_oOlga Marina, de Moscou, est née dans une famille de professeurs (de langue et de musique) et a mené une vie pleine d’énergie depuis son plus jeune âge – étudiant la musique, pratiquant l’athlétisme, les arts martiaux, la gymnastique. Olga a enseigné et participé à des compétitions à travers toute l’Europe et est reconnue comme l’une des meilleures suiveuses de Balboa en Europe.

Andreas vit à Stockholm. Il a enseigné, fait des compétitions et démonstrations de Balboa, Lindy Hop, Charleston et Shag à travers le monde depuis plus d’une décennie. Andreas est considéré comme l’un des meilleurs prof et danseur de Balboa au monde.

 [video1video2]

En tant que professeurs, Andreas et Olga mettent l’accent sur la relation entre les partenaires, la musicalité et la capacité à bien guider/suivre. Leur méthode d’enseignement est détendue et accessible. Il sont connus pour dispenser des cours bien structurés et s’attachent à faire de nombreux retours individualisés à chacun. Leur ambition est de créer des cours ludiques, présentant d’intéressants jeux de jambes et figures dans la joie et la bonne humeur.

Andreas, habitué du dance floor grenoblois, nous fait la joie de revenir cette fois accompagné de sa chère et tendre pour cette session 2018!

Audrey et Jean Buisson

buissonLes cours débutant “Moldus” seront assurés par des profs locaux, Audrey et Jean Buisson. Ils sont passionnés par les danses Swing depuis plus de 10 ans. Ils ont fait leurs premiers pas de Swing à Paris en 2006 puis ont fait partie de la troupe des Flying Cool Cats pendant 7 années en tant que démonstrateur (Lindy Hop, Balboa, Shag, Jazz Roots, Charleston 1920 et 1930, etc.). Depuis 4 ans ils ont décidé de se spécialiser en Balboa et enseignent aujourd’hui à l’école de danse L’Académie à Aix Les Bains. Ils sont aussi passionnés par l’enseignement que par la danse en elle même. Le tout dans une ambiance conviviale et joyeuse qui fait aussi partie de cette communauté Swing.